List of Prime Ministers Of India (1947-2023) Updated List!

The list of Prime Ministers of India is very diverse. All the Prime Ministers of India have done a phenomenal job in making our country a great nation. 

The Prime Minister is the Leader of The Executive branch of our democracy. A Prime Minister has all the qualities of a good leader and leads the nation to the best of his abilities.

The Prime Minister has the vital duty of taking critical decisions for the betterment of the country and its people. 

The Prime Minister is the leader of the ruling party of India. His cabinet ministers are responsible for scheduling and attending the Lok Sabha and answering questions from other members.

It is essential to know the list of Prime Ministers Of India to understand the rich heritage of this highest electoral position in our country. From the first Prime Minister of India to the current one, all the prime ministers of India have resumed the highest executive office by gaining the trust of the elected members of the Lok Sabha. 

The chronology of the list of Prime Ministers plays an essential role while understanding how the nation progressed and evolved with the coming and going of each Prime Minister.

How is the Prime Minister Elected? 

Once every five years, elections are held to appoint the leader of the executive branch of the democracy. 

After the general election, the new Members of The Lok Sabha or the Lower House elect the Prime Minister of India. The leader of the leading political party is usually chosen as the PM by members of the Lok Sabha. The President of India then appoints this leader.

List of Prime Ministers Of India From 1947-2023

1. Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru- (1947-1964)

Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru

He was appointed Prime Minister of India on 15th August 1947 and served until his death on 27th May 1964.

Role As Prime Minister

– He developed various policies to improve heavy industries like steel and coal.

– Foundation of a democratic and secular India

– Commitment to global peace and disarmament through international diplomacy

2. Lal Bahadur Shastri – (1964-1966)

Appointed as the Prime Minister of India on 27th May 1964 and served until 11th January 1965.

 Role As Prime Minister

– He led India in the 1965 Indo-Pakistan War.

– Gave the famous slogan ” Jai Jawan Jai Kisan.”

3. Indira Gandhi – ( 1966-1977, 1980 – 1984)

Indira Gandhi

She was the first female Prime Minister of India. She was the PM from 24th January 1966 to 24th March 1977 and then from 14th January 1980 to 31st October 1984. 

Role As Prime Minister

–  The Green Revolution culminated in her tenure.

– She led the famous 1971 war against Pakistan and liberated East Pakistan.

4. Moraji Desai – ( 1977 -1979)

Moraji Desai



He was the Prime Minister from 24th March 1977 to 28th July 1979.

 5. Charan Singh – (1979 -1980)

Charan Singh



He was the Prime Minister from 28th July 1979 to 14th July 1980

6.  Rajiv Gandhi – ( 1984 -1989)

Rajiv Gandhi



He was elected as the PM on 31st October 1984 and served until his death on 2nd December 1989.

 Role As Prime Minister

He increased government support for Science and Technology.

7. V.P Singh – (1989-1990)

V.P Singh



Prime Minister Singh held the office from 2nd December 1989 to 10th November 1990.

8. Chandra Shekhar – (1990-1991)

Chandra Shekhar



He was the Prime Minister from 10th November 1990 to 21st June 1991.

9. P.V Narasimha Rao –(1991-1996)

P.V Narasimha Rao



He was the Prime Minister from 21st June 1991 to 16th May 1996.

Role As Prime Minister

– He made a lot of reforms in the FDI Sector and played a significant role in India’s Nuclear Power Program.

– Introduction of the historic 1991 Budget, which aimed to stabilize the economy

10. Atal Bihari Vajpayee – ( 1996, 1998-2004)

Atal Bihari Vajpayee



Vajpayee became the Prime Minister for a brief period in 1996.

He again held office from 19th March 1998 to 22nd May 2004.

Role As Prime Minister

– He led India to victory in the 1999 Kargil War and spearheaded India’s Nuclear Power Program.

11. H.D. Deve Gowda – (1996- 1997)

He held office from 1st June 1996 to 21st April 1997. 

 Role As Prime Minister

– Focus on rural development and improvement of infrastructure in rural areas

– Implementation of pro-farmer policies and initiatives to support agricultural development

12. Inder Kumar Gujral – (1997 -1998)



– He was the Prime Minister from 21st April 1997 to 19th March 1998.

13. Dr Manmohan Singh – (2004-2014)

Dr Manmohan Singh



He was the PM from 22nd May 2004 to 26th May 2014.

He is hailed as the most brilliant economist of our time.

 Role As Prime Minister

– Under his government, the National Rural Health Mission was started and implemented

14. Narendra Modi – (2014 – Present)

Narendra Modi



He assumed office on 26th May 2014 after a thumping victory in 2014.

Role As Prime Minister

– Modi has taken India to new heights regarding Foreign Policy and Infrastructure.

– His development programs, like Jal Yojana, have been highly successful.

This is the list of Prime Ministers Of India with photos. This important list educates us about our Prime Ministers and their works and should be taught in all schools, from State Syllabus to I.B. Schools.


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Shri Mukesh L Mandaviya and Smt. Bharati Pawar.

 Sri. Rajiv Gandhi.

Share the Blog